Pharmacovigilance Committee

Pharmacovigilance is defined as science and activities relating to detection, assessment understanding and prevention of adverse effects or any other drug related problems.

The Pharmacovigilance Programme of India (PvPI) is an Indian government organization which identifies and responds to drug safety problems. Its activities include receiving reports of adverse drug events and taking necessary action to remedy problems. The Central Drugs Standard Control Organization established the program in July 2010 with All India Institute of Medical Sciences, New Delhi as the National Coordination Centre, which later shifted to Indian Pharmacopoeia Commission in Ghaziabad on 15 April 2011.


It is mandatory for every medical college in India to have a Pharmacovigilance committee, as per regulation of Medical Council of India, 2010. Therefore, the phamacovigilance committee, Dhanalakshmi Srinivasan Institute of Medical Sciences and Hospital has been constituted.


The broad goal of the committee will be to generate awareness about the need of identifying and reporting of Adverse Drug Reaction (ADRs), amongst all section of health care providers (Doctors, Nurses, pharmacist, post-graduates and under graduate students, Service providers, etc,) of Dhanalakshmi Srinivasan Institute of Medical Sciences and Hospital to identify the ADRs occurring in patients coming to the institute for treatment and report the same to the appropriate authorities.


  • To generate awareness about ADRs amongst health care providers and students of the institute, by different activities.
  • To identify ADRs occurring in the patients coming to the institute for treatment and to report the same to the appropriate authorities.
  • To carryout causality assessment of ADRs.
  • To undertake scientific and research activities pertaining to ADRs.
  • To take up activities to strengthen the ongoing National pharmacovigilance programme.

Scope of the Committee

The committee shall meet once in 2-3 months. The committee shall be responsible for planning, implementing and monitoring of various activities of the pharmacovigilance Programme of India (PvPI) in our institution.


Chairman & Coordinator

The Chairman/Coordinator will chair and conduct all the meetings and will function as Administrative Head of the Committee.


The Deputy Coordinator will primarily work as subject experts and will also do the sensitization of faculty, resident doctors, and students in the area of ADRs. They will give suggestion for better and effective function of the Programme and shall work as facilitators.

Roles & Responsibilities of Pharmacovigilance Committee

  • Regular visit to OP & IP wards.
  • Create awareness about reporting among healthcare professionals on a frequent basis.
  • Patients are also being educated to report adverse effect encountered if any.
  • Adverse Drug Reaction Forms are kept in all OP& IP wards.
  • Obtain all the relevant information to the particular adverse event at the earliest and make sure all the information is complete.
  • Perform - Causality assessment and expert opinion is required to arrive a conclusion.
  • Collection of data (ADR Reports) from various departments with the help of healthcare professionals.
  • Send to Pharmacovigilance Program of India (PvPI).

Pharmacovigilance Committee Members List

1. Dr. Visvanathan V Dean Chairman
2. Dr. Sureshkumar K Medical Superintendent Co-Chairman
3. Dr. Reavathi P Professor & Head of Pharmacology Convener
4. Dr. K. Sowmini Assistant Professor of Pharmacology Member Secretary
5. Dr. Muthulakshmi R Assistant Professor of Pharmacology Nodal officer
6. Dr. DeepthiVodnala Professor & Head of General Medicine Member
7. Dr.Vijayalakshmi M Associate Professor of OBG Member
8. Dr. VianyNaramala Professor & Head of Orthopedics Member
9. Dr. ChNagaeswaraRao Professor & Head of Dermatology Member
10. Dr. Sri Krishna M Professor & Head of Surgery Member
11. Dr. Chitra B Assistant Professor of Community Medicine Member
12. Mr. Sivagurunathan Chief Pharmacist Member
13. Mrs. Rani K Nursing Superintendent Member